AAA interns

Summer Interns

AAA Summer Interns Work with Curators and Underwater Archaeologists

AAA interns have worked at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of African Art since 2012 thanks to anthropologist Johnetta B. Cole, the museum’s director. This year the post went to Chrislyn Laurore, who graduated from Mount Holyoke College last spring with a double major in anthropology and Africana Studies. Her honors thesis addressed the material heritage of colonialism in Capetown, South Africa, where she studied during her junior year.

Chrislyn worked with curator Christine Kreamer and met one-on-one with Johnetta Cole. “To be able to sit down with both of them and be able to learn about their educational and personal trajectories was really inspiring,” she said. Contact with the museum’s director included personal mentoring. “She did bring me into her office and we spent close to two hours,” Chrislyn said. Like Cole, “I am also a Florida girl,” she added proudly.

Kory Cooper was the sixth summer intern hosted by AAA in collaboration with the Underwater Archaeology Branch of the Naval History and Heritage Command (NHHC). Now in his senior year at landlocked Missouri State University, he found few opportunities to pursue his interest in underwater archaeology. “This has been an eye-opening experience,” he said of his time at NHHC. “I had one oceanography class but otherwise I learned on my own, and in the field school I attended in Jamaica. It has been an amazing time.”

Kory boated on the Pawtuxet River, where the archaeology crew was using hydro-probing techniques to locate a Revolutionary War-era fleet.

This program, funded entirely by member donations, will host two new interns in the summer of 2017.


Distinguished Members


The American Anthropological Association would like to congratulate the newly inducted distinguished class of members. Thank you for loyally supporting the Association!

Members since 1966

  • Kenneth L. Adkisson
  • George A. Binney
  • Ralph Bolton
  • Ivan A. Brady
  • Kenneth Brook
  • Bernadette J. Bucher
  • Jean-Paul Dumont
  • Fadwa El Guindi
  • Dorothy C. Holland
  • Nicholas S. Hopkins
  • Sue-Ellen Jacobs
  • Barbara Joans
  • Suad Joseph
  • Alice Littlefield
  • Steven R. Nachman
  • Philip Newman
  • Nancy Peterson Walter
  • Robin Ridington
  • Renato I. Rosaldo
  • Ronald R. Royce
  • Anita Spring
  • Melvin D. Williams

About the Program

The distinguished member program recognizes and celebrates members who have loyally supported the Association for 50 years or more. The program was launched in 2012 and a new class is inducted annually in the Fall/Winter.

To see the full list of distinguished members and to read the submitted bios go to:

Donor Recognition

The American Anthropological Association would like to thank the following individuals and institutions for their support in 2016. All listings are based on actual donations to the AAA Annual Campaign or an AAA award or sponsorship, received from January 1 through December 31, 2016. This list does not include any pledges or multi-year grants received before 2016. Special thanks to our donors who joined the Annual Campaign Leadership Circle with a donation to this campaign of $500 and above. These names are denoted with an asterisk (*).

Special Recognition

Special thanks to the following donors for their generous support over the years.

  • William Douglass
  • Robert Lemelson Foundation
  • Janna Marchione
  • Philip Singer
  • Wenner-Gren Foundation


  • Vivian E. Garrison Arensberg

Benefactors ($5,000 and up)

  • Oxford University Press
  • Alisse Waterston*
  • Wiley

Patrons ($1,000-$4,999)

  • Alexander Street Press
  • Marion I. Berghahn*
  • Elizabeth Briody*
  • Elizabeth E. Brusco*
  • Heaney Family Fund of the
  • Oshkosh Area Community Foundation
  • Edward Liebow*
  • Yolanda Moses*
  • Robert L. Munroe*
  • Irwin Press*
  • Eric Ratliff*
  • Routledge/Taylor & Francis Group
  • University of Toronto Press

Partners ($500-$999)

  • American Association for Applied Linguistics
  • Kathryn M. Anderson-Levitt*
  • Wendy Ashmore*
  • Alex W. Barker*
  • Linda A. Bennett*
  • Ralph Bolton*
  • Cathy L. Costin*
  • Shirley J. Fiske*
  • Susan D. Gillespie*
  • Judith Goode*
  • Laura Graham/T. M. Scruggs*
  • Carol J. Greenhouse*
  • Edmund T. Hamann
  • Thomas W. Johnson*
  • Barbara A. Koenig*
  • Linda L. Lampl*
  • Setha M. Low*
  • Patricia Mail*
  • Mary H. Moran*
  • Emiko Ohnuki-Tierney*
  • John Bryan Page*
  • Thomas C. Patterson*
  • Oona Schmid*
  • Pamela K. Stone*
  • Robert T. Trotter*
  • Bonnie Urciuoli*
  • Maria D. Vesperi*
  • Linda M. Whiteford*

Friends ($250-$499)

  • William O. Beeman
  • Mary Bucholtz
  • Keith A. Dixon
  • Mary L. Gray
  • Robert A. Hahn
  • Suzanne Hanchett
  • Michael J. Harner
  • Monica Heller
  • Susan B. Hyatt
  • Jean E. Jackson
  • Ann E. Kingsolver
  • Robert A. LeVine
  • Janet E. Levy
  • Justin M. Nolan
  • Julie Peteet
  • Barbara Rylko-Bauer
  • James Trostle
  • Elanah M. Uretsky

Associates ($100-$249)

  • Kenneth L. Adkisson
  • Jason Antrosio
  • Florence E. Babb
  • Richard Bauman
  • Be More The Middle Project, Inc.
  • Karen E. Bell
  • Niko Besnier
  • Catherine Besteman
  • A. Lynn Bolles
  • Keri Brondo
  • Charles R. Cobb
  • Karen L. Davis
  • Jeffrey S. Dean
  • Mary-Jo Del Vecchio Good
  • Alison B. Diefenderfer
  • District of Columbia Housing Authority
  • Doris Erhard
  • Abou Farman
  • T.J. Ferguson
  • Agapi Filini
  • Kerry B. Fosher
  • Brian L. Foster
  • Byron J. Good
  • Anurag Gupta
  • Hugh Gusterson
  • Huamei Han
  • Richard Handler
  • Leah Horowitz
  • Barbara D. Jackson
  • Deborah D. Jackson
  • Alice B. Kehoe
  • Dolores B. Koenig
  • Richard Borshay Lee
  • Nancy O. Lurie
  • Elaine Lynch
  • Lindy L. Mark
  • Debra L. Martin
  • Samantha K. Martin
  • Concepcion Martinez-Maske
  • David G. McBride
  • Justine McCabe
  • Irma McClaurin
  • Joan P. Mencher
  • Cheryl Mwaria
  • Michael Nathan
  • Philip L. Newman
  • Carolyn R. Nordstrom
  • Sherry B. Ortner
  • Yasuyuki Owada
  • Bernard C. Perley
  • Robert W. Preucel
  • Ronald Provencher
  • William S. Puppa
  • Thomas Rocek
  • Anna C. Roosevelt
  • Edward L. Schieffelin
  • Margaret J. Schoeninger
  • Donna L. Schwartz-Barcott
  • Rachel Singh
  • Carla M. Sinopoli
  • Jay Sokolovsky
  • Katherine Spielmann
  • Bahram M. Tavakolian
  • Dennis Wiedman
  • Richard R. Wilk

Donations were made in 2016 “In Honor Of” the following individuals

  • Johnnetta Cole
  • Howard Horowitz
  • Edward Liebow
  • A. Kimball Romney
  • Alisse Waterston
  • Linda Whiteford

Donations were made in 2016 “In Memory Of” the following individuals

  • Bernard Bate
  • Eleanor Burke Leacock
  • M. Margaret Clark
  • Fernando Coronil
  • May Ebihara
  • George Foster
  • Eva Friedlander
  • Walter Goldschmidt
  • John Gumperz
  • Sydney Mintz
  • David Schneider
  • Lynn L. Thomas
  • William Vickers
  • Andrew Hunter Whiteford

The American Anthropological Association has made all attempts to ensure the accuracy of the information stated above. If we have inadvertently made any mistakes, please accept our apologies and contact the Resource Development Department with your corrections at